Art Studio

Yesterday was my 38th birthday! 🎈 🎉

I had such a lovely day!!🤩

Simone had found a dead cicada weeks ago – but she saved it for me (after pranking her cousin with it) and gave it to me as a birthday gift!

I love it – it is so well preserved… you can see it’s beauty so well!!

I also got pads and wrist braces (aka body armor) so I don’t hurt myself (too badly) when I fall skateboarding!

After skating at the park, we ate at Culver’s, and shopped at IKEA and the Goodwill Outlet… to find the finishing touches for our new ART STUDIO!!

🎨🎨🎨🎨🎨🎨🎨 ✂️ ✂️✂️✂️✂️✏️🖍

Our basement used to be a hoarder’s paradise! It was filled with stuff we might need later and stuff we liked but couldn’t get rid of.

Well- that has changed.

We, as a family, have worked super duper hard at minimalism and decluttering – so that we can have the maximum use of our home!

The fruits of that labor are really paying off!

The majority of the laundry room no longer holds junk…

it is now the home of our ART STUDIO!

I’m choosing to name it an ART STUDIO versus a craft room.

1. The kids are older now and mostly beyond paper and crayon crafts!

2. Craft room has a “mommy” sound to it and I want everyone to feel like this is their space to create without needing to ask my permission.

3. Art Studio sounds more serious and I want there to be a serious focus on the arts.

This year in home schooling I want to emphasize famous artists, different forms of art, various art mediums, and of course try our hand at replicating different art styles and creating our own masterpieces!

Sewing Space

Storage for art supplies

I got this cool vintage hamper yesterday for $2! It holds felt!!

The kids’ great-grandma’s table is being used as a workspace! The wooden chairs we found at a thrift shop for $5 each! The kids are going to paint them today for their first art project!

Couch and chairs (and my Ikea rug) make the room feel comfortable and homey.

Other angles of the room!

The kids were shocked that I wanted to clean and organize on my birthday LOL but I was on a mission to finish last night! The room as just right at about 8:00 – just in time for cake and a movie!!

6 Comments

  1. Happy Birthday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Happy (late) Birthday! That Art Studio looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you and thank you! I’ve been sneaking off into the art studio to read because it’s so peaceful (and clean lol)

      Like

  3. Very Belated Happy Birthday!!! We share a birthday month. ❤ Your room looks amazing. we too are in the process of cleaning house. It always amazes me how much we collect and never notice. LOL

    Like

  4. Nice idea!

    Like

Leave a comment