My first nature journal entry πŸ““ 🐦 

This morning, we went and ate donuts at the park! (I highly recommend this!!)

Well- while we were there, I took out my binoculars to look for birds!

At first, I was very unsuccessful- I could hear the birds… I just couldn’t see them!

But then- I saw two birds hopping under a tree. I looked at them through my binoculars and initially thought it was a pair of Mourning Doves… but then… I saw red on the head…

I got to watch a mother Northern Flicker feed her fledging! I couldn’t contain my excitement!!Β I was ecstatic!

I felt like a “real-life” bird watcher πŸ˜€!!!!

The first thing I did when I got home was make a journal entry!!


I would consider this my first nature journal entry because I didn’t just draw a random generic picture- I actually tried to draw what I saw and record the events that occurred in the wild!

In order to be prepared for our daily outdoor adventure/nature journaling, I got some supplies together!

  1. A cute suitcase bagΒ 
  2. Bird, insects, flower, tree books
  3. Oil pastels (wrapped in aluminum foil for safe keeping)
  4. JournalsΒ 
  5. Pencils
  6. Binoculars


I laminated my journal entry to use as a front cover to remind myself of the joy I felt today!! 😍


7 Comments

  1. How exciting to see a Northern Flicker feeding it’s chick/fledgling!! I’d love to see that!! I feel your excitement. Your journal entry is wonderful, and your kit looks pretty good. I would only change those pencils to a mechanical type so I wouldn’t need to worry about sharpening, or add a little sharpener, and extra soft white erasers.

    Have you added the book The Sierra Club Guide to Sketching in Nature by Cathy Johnson to your reference library yet? It’s a great primer for beginning and continuing outdoor adventures with sketching and adding color with pencils or watercolor to your journal entries.
    I have been using it for years. I bought it to use along with our Science homeschool unit when my daughter was a teenager. She’s all grown up now, but I still pull it out to help me journal and draw.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Good idea about the mechanical pencils… do you have a favorite brand? I tried mechanical pencils when the kids where young and they drove me crazy because they were curious how they worked and would take them apart! But they are much older now and would love to use them!
      I don’t have that book- but it sounds wonderful! I’m putting it on my birthday wish (today marks the beginning of my birthday month lol)
      I also want to thank you for taking the time to give me such thoughtful comments! I do love them and appreciate them! πŸ’œ

      Like

    • For the kids the disposable BIC mechanical pencils are good. You can get them by the bag and sales should start popping up for “back to school” supplies so you can get a good deal on several bags of them.
      I’d still pick up a soft white eraser for each of you though to have on hand. The pencil erasers are so small. I don’t know about you guys, but I go through them too fast, and they can leave marks on the page when erasing. the soft white erasers don’t rip the page or leave marks. These pencils are what I started with when I quit using pencils that needed sharpening.

      The mechanical pencil I use now is the Pentel Graph Gear 1000 Mechanical Drafting pencil.
      It feels great in my hand and writes and draws smoothly. I love that you can retract the lead when finished using it so the lead doesn’t break in my bag and go to waste.
      I have the 0.7 lead pencil, but want to add ab HB one too which is lighter and easier to cover up with watercolors, color pencils, and erasing.

      I love reading about your adventures, and what you’re learning and how you’re going about teaching your children about nature, and life.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t written a blog in a while. When I signed on to jot down a backlog of info I saw your story at the top of the page. Fantastic! Your first nature journal entry happens to feature my favorite thing – birding! I wish you many happy nature hikes and all the bird sightings your heart desires πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Love your nature journal and glad that you got to see the Northern Flicker feeding it’s fledgling! Your journaling kit is awesome. Wishing you many more exciting days enjoying what nature has to offer.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

