I made my own healing salves… plantain and comfrey!

Why didn’t I know about comfrey when my boys broke their bones!  

Andre just broke his knee last fall… 

… so an herb that can help mend bones would have been appropriate!

Yup- comfrey can help knit bones together! It also helps bruises and other ouchies… but it shouldn’t be used on open wounds as it can heal it too quickly- trapping an infection!

I actually came across this herb by accident! 

I ordered oatstraw leaves from Amazon and received comfrey leaves instead. After a quick phone call to Amazon, I got a refund… and I got to keep the Comfrey!


I googled and researched and found that the best way to use comfrey is in a salve! I also learned that the common weed plantain can also be a healing slave (one that can be used directly on scrapes).

So- I decided to make three different kinds of oil-infused salves! Comfrey salve, plantain salve, and a combo salve!

How I made my salves!

  • I measured out 1 cup of dried comfrey leaves and put it in a clean mason jar!

  • I also put 1-2 a cup in a jar for my combo salve!
  • I picked fresh plantain leaves πŸƒ  I checked each leaf twice- good thing since I found 2 slugs on the underside of the leaves!

    • I put the leaves in a food processor  


    I had one mason jar with 1 cup of comfrey leaves, 1 jar with 1 cup of plantain leave, and 1 jar with 1/2 a cup of each!

    • I melted coconut oil and poured it into each jar (it was about 1 1/2 cups in each jar)

    The hot coconut oil bubbled when I poured it on the leaves and the boys said it looked like minecraft potions!


    • With lids on each jar, I put them in the crockpot on low for about 15 hours! 

    • Then, I strained the oils through a cheesecloth.

    • And finally, I added 1 1/2 tablespoons of beeswax to each type of salve!


    I put them in small jars- ready for some healing actions!

    I hope I don’t need all this salve in one summer!!! 

    It has a shelf life of several years… if I don’t gift it away first! πŸ˜ƒ

    5 Comments

    1. Sounds like I could use some of that comfrey salve for my knee!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Sounds interesting. These “old time” salves and medicines really work.

      Liked by 1 person

    Leave a Reply

