Making peppermint infused coconut oil for oil pulling and why I’m wearing the same dress for a month!

Wow! Now that’s a title! LOL πŸ˜‚

I’ve been AWOL again so I figured I better interest ya’ll real fast!

So, what should I talk about first? The oil pulling or the dress?

The Dress…

I’ve been wearing the same beautiful white dress for 13 straight days now…


I mostly wear an apron over it to protect it…


I even made my own apron 😊


Strawberry picking in my white dress and apron!


Ok… so why am I wearing this white dress everyday for a month?

I’m wearing the dress as quiet protest against the fashion industry… 

the crazy expectations placed upon women and their bodies, 

fast fashion which harms our beautiful Earth and it’s resources and the people making them in sweatshops, 

and for me to contemplate just how much clothes I own while there are many people with barely enough to cover themselves!

I have begun reading the book 7: an experimental mutiny against excess by Jen Hatmaker. I’ve cried many times reading this as I realize I should be doing more for those who have less!
…and that’s why I’m wearing the same white dress for a month πŸ˜‰

🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺🌺

Now for the oil pulling…

Google Oil Pulling and you will learn about the health benefits of swishing coconut oil in your mouth for a few minutes.

I have swished coconut oil in my mouth several times, but the flavor is a bit gag-worthy… just too coconutty!

I have a forest of mint plants in my front yard, and I wanted to make something useful… I decided to infuse the mint oils into the coconut oil for oil pulling!

Directions:

  • Pick a bunch of peppermint!


  • Pull the leaves off the stems, rip up the leaves πŸƒ measure about a cup


  • Boil (carefully) the leaves in 2 cups of coconut oil – stir often


  • Let the leaves sit for 5 min


  • Pour into a glass jar- staining off the leaves with a strainer or cheesecloth

  • Look at how beautiful it is… such a glowing green!!!

  • After the coconut oil cools and hardens it is ready- its now a sweet mint color!

  • Put a spoonful in your mouth and swish it around for at least a minute… try for 5!
  • Keep this in the fridge and use within a few days!

So easy! So good for your teeth!!! And wearing my apron over the white dress saved it from some bright green stains!!!

16 Comments

  1. I’ve tried oil pulling before and I read somewhere I should do it for 5 min. Boy, I gave up after a few days. πŸ˜‰ By the way, the title did surprise me. Ha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello Amie!!! missed you..I just wanna say Happy Mother’s Day to you.Regards to the whole Brady bunch!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. this excess thing we typically have going on- if I can’t carry it I can’t have it, excepting kitchen and bedroom. So all my ‘other stuff’ fits in a 65 liter and 35 liter pack. (about 30 or 35 pounds. Give me a day and I can go anywhere. I was just like everyone else until beginning of 2014 when I started this. Hard to do with kids, though. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Wow! That’s true minimalism! Way to go!! I do try to teach my children the art of letting go and not needing things.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I eventually came to realize possessions own us, we don’t own them. πŸ™‚ A good lesson to teach your children, for sure.

        Like

  4. We really are too materialistic and excessive in our possessions. Never heard of oil pulling before. After reading this, I don’t think I want to try it either. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great post. Heating up the oil diminishes value if using raw coconut oil.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Kudos to you for wearing a WHITE dress for a month. That deserves an applause all by itself. On a more serious note, it’s great that you’re raising awareness about so many issues with just one act. Question: does oil pulling work?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Recently I”ve been pondering my variety of clothes come to the conclusion to always wear sensible shoes, jeans and full arm tops, apart from when at a hafla and then change into “The sky ‘s the limit femininity”. All the other clothes have to go.

    Liked by 1 person

Trackbacks

  1. I’m not wearing my white dress today! | Becoming a Wild Family
  2. I’m not wearing my white dress today! | Becoming a Wild Family

Leave a Reply

