Bird watching… from the comforts of my home 🏑 

It all started with a book…


This book is amazing! I’m reading a chapter aloud a day- and each chapter tells the story of a bird through the eyes of a bird watcher.  After we read the chapter, we also watch YouTube videos to actually see the bird 🐦! We are learning so much about bird behavior!!

Anyway, the book is very inspiring- all we wanted to do was go bird watching. 

The problem… my kids can’t all be quiet 🀐 at the same time! LOL! πŸ˜‚ 

We have tried to go bird watching, but it’s near impossible to see anything.

Solution…

I set up more feeders outside my front window –

added a variety of food

* meal worm cake 

*woodpecker suet feeder

*Woodpecker, Nuthatch, and Chickadee       seed 

*sunflower seeds and Safflower seeds

* thistle seed



…. and even put a comfy couch in front of the window!


The results… tons of birds!!

Too name a few – cardinals, blue jays, titmouse, sparrows, doves, finches, downy woodpecker and (my favorite) a northern flicker woodpecker!

It is very hard (for me) to snap a picture of these beautiful birds… but I did manage to get a picture of a downy woodpecker 😊!


9 Comments

  1. This is so awesome! I need to add some different varieties of food and a few more feeders I see! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Love this post.. and the flower in your hair, and the couch in front of the window πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. We LOVE watching the birds. For my birthday last year, I bought myself (yep, you read that right-I bought myself a present) a window feeder. It is by far my favorite feeder but I enjoy them all! I will check out the book. Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love bird watching. Haven’t done as much of it as I used to since I got Tippy. I don’t want to put out birdseed, just to have Tippy terrorize the birds. You might want to check out the Audubon Society’s Great Backyard Bird Count. It takes place this coming weekend and anyone can participate. I bet your gang would enjoy participating. You can check it out here: http://www.audubon.org/content/about-great-backyard-bird-count.

    Liked by 1 person

    • What a great idea!! I’ll check that out, thanks for telling me about it!! πŸ˜€ I understand about not wanting Tippy to terrorize the birds- sometimes out dog 🐢 will bark at all the birds and make them fly into a tree LOL!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Your welcome. I usually contribute. May not get to this year. You can take my place. πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

