Cooking with kids

Throw back Thursday – kids growing up in the kitchen

Having kids in the kitchen is natural for our family – in fact, sometimes the older kids cook full meals for the family – from chicken legs and turkey burgers to sweet potatoes. and soup

All four of the kids use knives and the gas stove without  direct supervision.

BUT: How did the kids become so active in the kitchen?

We started when they were young...

2012

 

The kids learned about spices and how to make scrambled eggs.


I even turned the hall closet into a “cooking nook” filled with cookbooks for the kids to look through!

  
I also introduced the kids to meal planning and choosing what they wanted to eat.

As the kids got older, I gave them more and more opportunities and freedom in the kitchen.

They were given lessons, safety rules, guidance… and food.

Cutting onions (and discovering that they make your eyes water)

…and yes we used to have a punching bag in the kitchen! LOL!



Dehydrating fruit

Making Breakfast


…and serving Breakfast (mother’s day 2 years ag0)

 

Taking the kids to local markets and the grocery store.

Elijah is gluten free and so it’s important he knows how to cook for himself…

Have fun!!

The kids had prepared some snacks… opened a store…and charged me money!

As the years have gone by, I’ve seen the children’s cooking/baking/preparing skills get better and tastier!

They call themselves “The Yum-Yums”!

The Wild Family Facebook Page 🌸

7 Comments

  1. What beautiful, lucky kids (and Mom!). It’s normal for them to feed themselves and others. I cannot believe the amount of people I meet who profess they don’t cook. I then ask them, “Do you eat?” Haha!! Keep on doing the wonderful living like you do. I’ve got two little self-sustainable dynamos in the making as well. You are a great example to us.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I agree… And unfortunately was one of those helpless fools – God only knows what my husband and I ate before I had children and was forced to start cooking… I’m trying to change that cycle and I think it’s working! Plus… It’s so wonderful to have helping hands in the kitchen – and I’m sure you will be able to relate!!

      Liked by 1 person

      • For sure. They help more and more each day, and have fun. I’m glad you had kids, the world is better for it 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Whenever I see photos of your children, I am always reminded that a house full of kids maybe the messiest and noisiest..but its also the happiest. Those faces lit with glee, happiness, curiousity and a wonderful bond. Any parent would be bewildered by the fact how they all get together (of course there would be fighting ) and sharing great childhood memories…Your Yum-Yums are precious and so are you! Great job Amie 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL- it is all those things (although I try to hide the mess 😉) I’m usually overwhelmed when I try to do it all myself, so having kids in the kitchen ends up being so helpful! And it really is a great time in the kitchen- mess and all! Thank you for your kind words, they really touch my heart and make me smile! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Great lessons!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

