The jump into Unschooling…

Kerry McDonald is the author for the blog at Whole Family Learning and she did a profile post on how we become an unschooling family.


She had asked via her Facebook page if anyone wanted to share their story about choosing a self-directed learning style for their homeschool….

and I felt a strong desire to explain how we made the final jump into unschooling.

Almost a year ago, I started reading a book called How to Raise a Wild Child: The Art and Science of Falling in Love with Nature, by Scott Sampson. It changed how I wanted to raise our four children, but it wasn’t until the beginning of this new year (2016) that I fully embraced a lifestyle and homeschool change.

Going outside and playing in nature is so important, as is learning about your environment – trees, flowers, how to grow and cook food.  Also, I want my children to know what makes our community and city special – and by using the community’s resources we gain an authentic relationship with its history and geography.
I have always been an eclectic teacher for my children, but when my youngest gave me such push-back in strategies that had worked for the older three, I knew something needed to change–and it was going to have to be me!
… please check out her blog post Natural Learning Family Profile: Amie  to read about the terrifying accident that happened to Eli that made me realize forced learning was no longer going to occur in our home.  From that moment on, I realized that natural learning in an unschooling environment was the best choice for our family.
I would also like to take a moment to thank my readers for all the support I get. 
I have found a wonderful supportive community that encourages me πŸ™‚
THANK YOU!!

Like my Facebook page 😊
7 Comments

  1. Beautiful story, Amy.Shine your LIGHT. You are a wonderful teacher and not just for your lovely children.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow. I’m sure that was scary! I think you are doing a great job with your kids. I do wonder though, does your state have requirements that the homeschoolers (unschoolers) have to meet?

    Liked by 1 person

    • We have to log our hours according to core subjects (ex. History, writing,math)and noncore (ex. art,p.e). We are constantly learning so I log what we do- it’s truly amazing just how much learning goes on everyday! The point is, it’s not structured like a typical school setting.

      Like

Leave a Reply

