And I quote my son… “that’s how you play in a creek!”

The hike started off clean enough… it’s a 30/30 hike, one that we are quite familiar with at Sioux Passage.

But then the kids spotted the old tree bridge across the creek.

I have never let them cross it because I was always so afraid of them falling!

Well, I am no longer afraid! 


See, even I went across!


The kids were occupied for awhile finding neat things to show me…

Simone found where a snake had slithered in the mud! 🐍

Eli found claw marks from where an animal slipped off the tree bridge…

 

Andre found LOTS of raccoon tracks…

 

Eddie found a natural Pogo Stick…

 

I unfortunately found half-buried rusted barrels – sad to think what used to be in there (contamination?)

 

After exploring for a bit… The kids’ adventurous spirits came out – but not before I made them hang up their funny packs!


I just let them play while I took pictures and laughed at their antics!





 

Dirty, dirty, dirty!!!

And of course, I’m carrying everything again!


Once we got back to the car- I ordered all shoes and top layer clothes to be taken off!

 
…and I wonder why I have so much laundry! LOL 😳

Wild Family Facebook page 🌸

14 Comments

  1. That looks like a fab day out! I always say if my kids come home from an activity clean they clearly haven’t enjoyed themselves! Xxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. OMG! OH MY GOSH! What a neat day for the kids and you! I think I would have given pause at the height of that branch bridge! WOW! They’d never learn this stuff in a classroom of 35 kids. Well done Mummy!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Several years ago my husband wanted to cross the tree bridge with the kids and I freaked out begging him not to! It felt amazing to realize that the bridge was totally crossable for the kids and even me!! I used to be quite the worrier LOL! Thank you for the encouragement- I am always surprised at the different treasures the kids find and the inferences they make about it!

      Liked by 2 people

  3. I used to say the best foods are the messiest ones. Same goes for a day in the woods. So glad you are encouraging your children to experience nature and getting filthy. Too many don’t get those opportunities these days.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Great! I love unstructured creative play outdoors!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Eeek! You’re all very brave! The barrels look like oil barrels maybe, but if they’re that rusted I’d think that whatever used to be in them must be long gone by now.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The kids make me brave! I live in Saint Louis where several parks have been contaminated by ColdWater Creek. It’s a long sad story of toxic waste 😒 and documented cases of it causing cancer! It’s scary and maddening!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh no! That’s so horrible! I hope you’ve not been affected too much 😦

        Liked by 1 person

  6. fiercelydevoted

    I wrote my local parks and rec office about the 30/30 challenge and they love the idea! Yea! Thanks so much for sharing your journey.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Kids will be kids…if they are allowed to be. Who does your laundry? Great blog. Thanks for stopping bs

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

