My grown-up treasures from our nature hikes πŸŒΈ

The kids are really good at finding treasures on nature hikes like frogs and shells and rocks… but sometimes they find something that really appeals to the grown-up, penny-pincher, go-green-and-reuse-everything side of me!

And the kids managed to do it two times!!

Twice, now, during our wild hikes into the more heavily wooded areas of parks, we have found abandoned flower pots!

The kids were just as excited about finding them as I was!

(although I wish someone hadn’t used a park as their personal dump site)

ANYWAY –

Today after days and days of illness…  we are finally on the mend πŸ˜ƒ and ready to go move and groove! (Thank you all for the well wishes!!)

Since I feel that we should avoid other people for risk of passing this horrible illness onto another family, we are staying home and just playing lazily outside today and doing light yard work.


 πŸŒΈπŸŒ³πŸŒΈπŸŒ³πŸŒΈπŸŒ³πŸŒΈπŸŒ³

Since it’s almost spring and fairly warm outside… I got bit by the gardening bug!!

I got out a few seed packets and put those new-to-us pots to work!

Nasturtium

Sweet Pepper


Sweet Basil

Peppers

***********A slight rant about store bought seeds!**********

In a perfect world I would have saved seeds from last year… But I am not even close to being perfect, although by some standards my garden was a perfect failure 😳 LOL!

Anyway- I opened my sweet peppers seed packet…

 And found 3 whole seeds!

Yeah- this Wild Family is certainly saving seeds this year!! πŸ’œπŸŒ³πŸ’œ

Wild Family Facebook page 🌸

8 Comments

  1. 3 seeds?! Oh dear… That’s a bit naughty of them. But yay for the flower pots! #woodlandwinners
    We had a show here in the UK when I was a kid called The Wombles. They found ‘rubbish’ and reused it in their land. You guys are like Woodland Wombles and I think you’re great! X

    Liked by 1 person

    • LOL- I’ll have to check out the Wombles! And I think we shall all write a nasty letter to the seed company about our disappointment- or perhaps my son will write how happy he is about the lack of seeds in the packet!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Bairleafarm

    We have a wooded area across the road from my house. For years people illegally dumped back there. My presence has pretty much stopped that but there is still a ton of trash back there. Someone dumped some flowers and I picked up the pots. Come spring I was back doing something else and noticed every place I picked up pots there were flowers growing. They now reside in my flower bed. It really is sad that people dump them. I would assume they don’t know they can plant them and they come back every year.
    I would hate to get three seeds but don’t worry about it as I save most of mine. Well, at least for peppers, cucumbers, melons, tomatoes, and a few others.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well good for you… I’m jealous I had no blooming flowers in my pots LOL! Perhaps if I go back I might see some I can transplant!! I hate that so many people see things as disposable (in a park?) and as a one-time-use object! At least we can turn someone else’s trash into our blooming treasure!! 🌸🌸🌸

      Liked by 1 person

      • Bairleafarm

        Society in general has become disposable. It’s sad if you really think about it.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yes it is sad 😒 I suppose the very best I can do is teach my children not to be and show others by example!

        Like

  3. 3 seeds? Yikes! 😬 I have thought about saving seeds too this year! Looks like it will be worth it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

