“Stop throwing algae!” 

Yes, I am a mean mom!! I ordered my children to stop throwing algae at each other!

Really, though, I should have just saved my breath… Because this happened a few minutes later:

Andre ducked to avoid an “accidentally ” thrown algae ball and he fell sideways into a few inches of water in the murky creek.

Eddie felt bad, so he gave up one of his shirts and fixed Andre all up.

Andre was still mad for a few extra minutes… LOL! (It’s such a rare sight to see Andre mad! 😡 It didn’t last long though, don’t worry!)

But I’m getting ahead of myself!

We went to another park to complete a 30/30 hike. This time it was at Spanish Lake, but I had to explain to the kids that it is really a pond.

When we first arrived, I read the first chapter from Whinnie-the-Pooh… the chapter book. I found the book at Goodwill for 50 cents and I thought it would make a great read aloud for parks.

I had to convince the kids it wasn’t a baby book and it wasn’t Disney! LOL!! And guess what… They loved it!

 

After I read to them,the kids noticed the pavilion had what seemed to be a thousand picnic tables all crammed together. So I let them jump around on them and play tag for what felt like forever!

I wanted to rush them to the nature hike… But really, when do you get a chance to jump on tables??

Once we started walking, we managed to go a few hundred feet before stopping for another half hour.

(Another name for this post could have been Being Patient on a Hike.)

Several tree stumps caught our attention.

Counting rings to determine the trees age…

 

Eli made a machine gun…

  

Andre found a swing…

Simone and Eddie made a see-saw.

And Eli wanted me to play on his balance beam…

Once we started on our hike again, we managed to go another few hundred feet before stopping at the side of the pond.

The kids found a stock pile of broken shells.

The consensus is that a raccoon sat by the water, fished out the shells, ate the insides, and left its trash!

The kids could see more shells in the water and spent quite awhile fishing them out with sticks.

Eddie’s treasure is an unbroken shell…

Another great find was this beautiful heart leaf…  

Eli and Andre got a short lesson in how shells were used as tools and cups and spoons in times past.

And I just chillaxed against a tree… waiting patiently

A cute little frog scooped out of the water with a shell (useful little tool)…

Finally, we actually hiked along the path almost continuously…

Except for the detour into the algae filled creek!

As we walked, we talked and joked and asked questions and pointed out cool things. It’s so nice to spend quality time together having fun and being a WILD family ❤️

I even got my first flower for 2016!

Wild Family Facebook page 🌸

19 Comments

  1. Anonymous

    keep up the blogging…enjoy reading your adventures!!! 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. What a magical afternoon. And the heart shaped leaf , the frog in the shell and your smiles are priceless and contagious . Beautiful.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Looks like a wonderful day!!! BTW, the frog is a Blanchard Cricket Frog…They have a HUGE croak, and because of water pollution and contamination, they’re threatened in most states.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh how sad! Good thing he jumped right back into the pond… Hopefully back to reproduce!
      Thanks for telling us what kind he is… We will google it and find out more 🐸

      Like

  4. Sounds like a ton of fun – bet they all slept well that night!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Love the picture of the frog on the shell!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Do you guys go Geocaching!?

    Liked by 1 person

  7. It’s as easy as pulling up an app on your phone, and following the map to treasure! 🙂 Let me know how your first Geocache experience is! I would love to hear about it!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ah the patience of parents…your progress reminded me of 10 minutes of quality time I spent with my daughter when she was two years old (at her insistence) watching a slug make 2 inches of progress on a path. She wanted to watch the whole journey but I finally convinced her more treasures awaited us up ahead on the path. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my, that would have taken some time to watch LOL! I’m glad you talked her out of that! 🐌

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sidenote: She ended up going to UCSC, whose mascot is a banana slug (student-chosen, of course). There’s a theme here, but I’m not sure exactly what it is, besides: slugs rule. It also reminds me of my first gardening season in Seattle, WA when I noticed shiny trails on my half-eaten leaves and thought (growing up in San Antonio, TX), “are squirrels night-eaters leaving saliva on my plants?…I had no idea…” Uhm, slugs. Never heard of them until then. Now remembering my dog’s run-in with slugs…I guess I could go on and on…

        Liked by 2 people

  9. It is thoroughly interesting to read your amazing blog!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Such a compliment 😊 I appreciate it! My kids lead me through adventure after adventure LOL 🌸 even I don’t know the interesting twists and turns each day brings!

      Like

Leave a Reply

