Homemade Sunscreen

Yesterday was a beautiful fun day filled with plenty of sunshine β˜€οΈ!


I was even in a sundress and flip flops 😊   (Ok- I was barefoot most of the day LOL)

Well, the sunshine felt so good…

But I let something very important skip my mind. πŸ˜”

SUNSCREEN!

It wasn’t until I was putting my little red headed – freckle faced boy to bed that I remembered! I was gazing into his sweet sleepy eyes when I noticed the red flush to his cheeks! Guilt hit me like a ton of bricks!

It doesn’t matter that it’s Febuary! That boy needed sunscreen on his face… And I forgot!

I vowed to make a fresh batch of sunscreen first thing in the morning… And I did just that!!

HOMEMADE SUNSCREEN:


I melted 1/2 a cup of coconut oil and 2 tablespoons of beeswax together on low heat.

I removed the pan from the fire and let it cool for about five minutes.

Then I stirred in 2 Tablespoons of Zinc.

Then I added 1 Tablespoon of Jojoba oil, 1 Teaspoon of Carrot Seed oil, and 1 Teaspoon of Red raspberry oil.

The sunscreen fit perfectly into my small wide mouth mason jar!

I will put this jar in a Ziplock bag and throw it (gently) into my purse.

*Apply often about every 2 hours! If swimming – every 1 1/2 hours.

*If the spf doesn’t seem high enough (as in skin is still pinking – you can add more zinc!)

*Everyone’s skin is different – this recipe may need tweaking to fit you and your family!

Wild Family Facebook page 🌸

1 Comment

  1. Love tips like these…thanks for sharing…yes, even in winter we need sunscreen…You have been Heard!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

